top of page
  • Writer's pictureHighways Heroes

Highways Heroes 2023 Shortlist Announced

Updated: Jul 26, 2023

Highways Heroes are pleased to announce shortlisted finalists for the National Highways supported awards ceremony

The awards are the only time the supply chain and the client body have come together to recognise the value and importance of those unsung heroes we put to work everyday Set up after a time of unprecedented change not only in our industry, but as part of our everyday lives we believe this is the ideal time to celebrate the hard work and success of our workers, who have coped admirably in the face of adversity, to recognise the heroic actions of them which, until now, has gone unnoticed.

The finalists (in no particular order) are: Hardeep Sanghera Fortel

Danny Grant Keltbray

Lynsey Harris Graham Construction

Nick thomas CRCivils

Andrew Cummins National Highways

Leigh Fox Colas LTD

Will Raiment Arcadis Consulting (UK) Limited

Sian Small & Polly Bramwell ATM-AMAC

David Barlow Balfour Beatty

Warren Connor Traffic Labour Supplies Ltd

Mark Slowaki & Bailey Slowaki Traffic Labour Supplies Ltd

Gary Lawrence HW Martin

Kevin Bending Morrisons Energy Services London Medium

Richard Paddey Costain

Tony Drake Forest Traffic Services Limited

David Baxter and Kevin Morris NYHighways Ltd

Neil Martin Telent

Gary Davies Amey Specialist Bridges Inspection and Maintenance

Paul Johnston Go Plant Ltd

Les Saunders AC Landscapes & Treeworks UK Ltd

Gary Watson J Murphy & Sons

Mark Richards Colas Ltd

Anton Johnson & Reece Varney Colas

Trevor Hartley and Simon Psaila VolkerHighways Ltd

Emilia Dawson Octavius Infrastructure

Aron Frost Octavius Infrastructure

Brenton Mclean Chapter 8 Traffic Management

Joe Devlin Living Places Southampton

Dave Harford National Highways

Paul Strong, Kyle Gill, Rob English, Ben Johnson, Nicola Hodges, Jayne Richsrdson


John Collin D Morgan PLC

Kerrie Wykes, John Moore, Nigel McMullen

Milestone Infrastructure

Steve Broadfield , Steve Watson & Mick McElroy

Crown Highways Ltd

Christian McMullen & Jamie Proctor

Hanson Contracting & Chevron TM

Carolyne Ferguson Kier Highways

James Hopkins Aggregate Industries

Wayne Pete Berry Amberon Ltd.

Jack Gibbins Milestone Infrastructure

Daniel Lancley R&W Civils

Gareth Keeling Jointline Limited

Gareth Hope Tarmac

John Talbot Highway Care

Matthew Lugg OBE WSP Mark Smith Ringway Jacobs (Cheshire East)

Andy Cox Metropolitan Police

These are the nominees for the main Highways Heroes awards with those shortlisted for the special recognition awards to be announced in due course Whether its saving someone from danger or risk of injury, helping a member of the public to safety, or supporting a team member in the face of abuse the highways heroes’ awards recognise individuals who have coped admirably in the face of adversity, to recognise their heroic actions. The individuals who have been shortlisted will now all receive a personal invitation to attend the gala evening which is taking place at DeVere Grand Connaught Rooms on 30th November 2023, the awards will not only recognise those who have gone above and beyond their duty, but also those that have helped someone or improved a situation, either in the communities they work in or to unconditionally support fellow workers in their team.



bottom of page